Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 30th, 2009

Artist Name
Erin Maloney a.k.a AirWynn Glass Designs

erin-artistinfo pic


peacockfeathers2-lrg

Tell us something about yourself/bio/other interests?
I’ve always been an artist.  I’ve dabbled in lots of different mediums as most artists do.  When I’m not making beads; I enjoy interior design, graphic design, cooking and baking, camping, swimming and enjoying a nice dinner/night out with my loving fiance (we’ve been together for nearly 10 years now).   We’ve just purchased our first home and are looking forward to moving in March 2010 and planning our wedding!  I am an animal-lover.  I take pride in being “green” and doing what I can to help our environment.  I am also a graphic designer, with a small home-based business on the side.  I prefer diet Pepsi to diet Coke.  I love sushi, Chinese food, and Italian food!  If you want to know more about me, stop by my booth and introduce yourself!  🙂

chromium group

How long have you been making glass beads (or beading, or designing jewellery)?
I’ve been making lampwork beads for 6 years.


What inspires you?
I take inspiration from a lot of different things I see in everyday life.  It could be something in nature that forms my inspiration for my more organic-styled beads or a circus clown’s costume for my bold and colourful style.  I tend to teeter-totter from one style to the other… whatever strikes my mood at the time.

african barrels main

Tell us about your best beadmaking/jewellery moment…
I have a “best” beadmaking moment every single time I challenge myself to a new design or a new shape that I have visualized in my mind.  After numerous attempts and then being completely 100% satisfied with the outcome, confident I can make anything I want… that gives me my “best” moment feeling!
Tell us about your worst beadmaking/jewellery moment…
I was making a sculptural rose where all of the petals and leaves needed to be made ahead of time and kept warm.  While re-introducing one of the petals back into the flame before attaching it to the stem, my pliers lost grip of the nearly-molten glass and the petal fell onto my lap.  It instantly burned right through my pants and left a hefty burn on my skin too! Needless to say it took me a while to attempt a sculptural flower again!

What will you be bringing to the 2009 OGBA Show?
At my booth you will find a large assortment of handmade glass beads, some of which will utilize subtle neutral colours and textures and others that will knock your socks off with vivid colours!  You may also have heard me referred to as “The Bone Lady” (a nick-name I can’t decide if I like or not! haha) because I am known for creating realistic-looking bone beads for the dog lover, Halloween lover, or the historian!  I will have ready-to-wear handmade glass pendants I like to call “Fairy Pods”.  Lastly, I also sell “Add-A-Bead Pendants” that are a great interchangeable pendant that allows you to slip a bead on to match whatever you’re wearing that day!
Hope you all will come and check out my booth!

Read Full Post »